29 Athletes won Athlete of the Week Award in 2018 as Oyeniyi & Okagbare top the list

2018 has been a great year for Athletic Heat Ltd as we have been able to expand our brand beyond imagination. This year we started a couple of projects/initiatives which we felt will be a big boost to Nigerian athletes from this season onward.

In March, we instituted the Athletic Heat Athlete of the Week Award which is to recognize Nigerian athletes worldwide who performs well during the every week. The rule we set was that, anytime competitions were held in Nigeria such as the Golden Leagues, notwithstanding the performances of their foreign-based counterparts, the recognition will be given to the home-based due to the minimal competitions hosted by the Athletics Federation of Nigeria. Another yardstick in selecting the winners was through an Athletics Calculator which determines the athletes who take the title.

The very first winners of this weekly accolades were Blessing Ogundiran and Arowolo Emmanuel who were standout athletes at the Abuja Golden League where they won the 100m and 200m respectively in 11.48s and 20.85s.

Arowolo Emmanuel and Blessing Ogundiran were our first Athlete of the Week recipients.

Soon after this was announced, US-based Jumper, David  Ejumeta volunteered to sponsor the Award with a cash prize of N5,000. Just like us, David believes that if financial incentives is added, it will spur athletes to run faster so as to attain the title and be the best version of themselves whenever they compete.

Ejumeta subsequently sponsored the next Awards won by home-based Athletes Joy Udo-Gabriel and Enoch Adegoke who ran scintillating PB’s  11.42s and 10.19s at the Commonwealth Games in April.

In May, we signed a partnership deal with MD Yesir Foundation, Mr Temitope Alli who pledged to sponsor every Athlete of the Week won by an home-based athlete with sum of N20,000. This has indeed inspired many to bring out the best in them.

MD Yesir Foundation, Mr Temitope Alli flanked by CEO Athletic Heat, Eseroghene Oguma

So far this accolades have been won 35 times by 29 athletes with Oyeniyi Abejoye winning it the most for the male category having won it thrice while Blessing Okagbare  have equally won it thrice.


African 200m Record Holder, Blessing Okagbare won the Athlete of the Week title three times this season.

Nigeria’s fastest hurdler, Oyeniyi Abejoye won Male Athlete of the Week Award three times.

Here’s a list of all our winners in 2018. They are:

March 18 

Arowolo Emmanuel and Blessing Ogundiran

March 25th

Blessing Okagbare and Fabian Edoki

April 1st

Blessing Okagbare and Raymond Ekevwo

April 9th 

Enoch Adegoke and Joy Udo-Gabriel

April 22nd

Tobi Amusan and Divine Oduduru

April 29th

Mercy Abire and Divine Oduduru

May 8th 

Chukwuebuka Enekwechi and Blessing Okagbare

May 21st

Ese Brume

June 8th 

Omubo Garshon and Joy Udo-Gabriel

June 14th 

Mercy Ntia-Obong and Arinze Benjamin

June 27th

Orukpe Erayokan and Patience Okon

July 2nd

Chidi Okezie

July 8th 

Oyeniyi Abejoye and Rosemary Chukwuma

July 23rd 

Isah Salihu and Joy Udo-Gabriel

Aug 6th 

Abejoye Oyeniyi and Glory Nathaniel

Sept 11th 

Abejoye Oyeniyi and Chioma Onyekwere

October 22nd

Rosemary Chukwuma, Oritsemeyiwa Ineh and Alaba Akintola

Nov 14th

Favour Ofili and Joseph Edadiafhe

Dec 17th

Nse Imaobong and Usheoritse Itsekiri

Dec 30th

Chioma Onyekwere

Reiterating the process in which we select our winners, at the National Sports Festival held in Abuja weeks ago, there were many athletes who performed well running PB’s, breaking records and defending titles.

Here’s the Top 6 home-based performers at the Sports Festival according to the Athletics Calculator


Usheoritse Itsekiri-10.27s-100m (1115pts)

Oyeniyi Abejoye-13.85s- 110mh (1094pts)

Orukpe Erayokan- 46.35s- 400m (1091pts)

Arinze Benjamin- 7.77m- Long Jump (10.77pts)

Olowookere David- 51.07s- 400mh (1074pts)

Austine Nwoye- 55.23m- Discus (968pts)


Nse Imaobong– 52.46s- 400m (1116pts)

Boluwatife Bukola- 11.45s- 100m (1112pts)

Grace Anigbata- 13.76m- Triple Jump (1071pts)

Queen Obisesan- 64.35m- Hammer (1002pts)

Esther Isah- 1.80m- High Jump (1000pts)

Princess Kara- 44.76m- Discus (792m)

In September, Athletic Heat in partnership with Nigeria Athletics blog hosted the first ever Athletics in School Program which is aimed at promoting Track and Field culture amongst students and teaching them the value of combining school and sports. We took this historic move to where history itself began, we paid a visit to CMS Grammar School, Bariga, Lagos- the oldest secondary school in Nigeria- and St. Finbarrs College, Akoka. We went alongside Nigeria’s fastest hurdler, Abejoye Oyeniyi who served as a role model to these students.

See photos from the outing:

Oyeniyi Abejoye presenting his Team Africa’s vest to Benjamin Oshiafi of St. Finbarr’s College

L-R: Athletic Heat CEO, Eseroghene Oguma, Star Athlete Abejoye Oyeniyi and NigAthletics boss Funmi Fameso.

The organisers of the Athletics In School Program presented a framed running vest of Oyeniyi Abejoye

Lastly, we hosted the 2nd edition of Athletic Heat Track and Field Awards where we recognized Nigerian home-based athletes who performed well during the 2018 season as well as top elite US-based athletes who put Nigeria on the World map of Athletics this year.

The winners include;

Rosemary Chukwuma (Youth Female Athlete of the Year)

Alaba Akintola (Youth Male Athlete of the Year),

Enoch Adegoke (Junior Male Athlete of the Year),

Esther Isah (Junior Male Athlete of the Year),

Abejoye Oyeniyi (Senior Male Athlete of the Year),

Ajayi Yinka (Senior Female Athlete of the Year)

Oritsemeyiwa Ineh (Next Rated Athlete of the Year)

Grace Anigbata (Breakout Athlete of the Year)

Coach Edirin Owivri (Coach of the Year)

Blessing Okagbare and Tobi Amusan made Nigeria proud setting African Record and making Commonwealth Games history respectively. Our Para-Athlete of the Year Award went to Galadima Suwaibidu, who won the 100m T47 Gold medal at the 2018 Commonwealth Games while World Para-Powerlifting Record holder, Bose Omolayo was recognized as Female Para-Athlete of the Year.  Coach Aare Feyisetan won the Para-Coach of the Year Award. Mr Bola Alake and Mr Daniel Adebanjo were giving long-term service recognition. Youth Olympic Champ,  Rosemary Chukwuma was recognized as the Most Outstanding Home-based Athlete in 2018

See photos from the event:

GM Ultima Ltd Mr Adebakin Tunji presented Para Male Athlete of the Year to Galadima Suwaibidu.


CEO Athletic Heat presents a recognition Award to Visioner, Junior Sports Management, Adelowo Shokunbi for his immense contribution to Athletics in Nigeria.

Fast rising athlete, Demilade Adeniyi giving a citation during the 2018 Athletic Heat Award.


An excited Coach Aare Feyisetan and his wife after receiving his Award as Para-Coach of the Year


From L-R: CEO Athletic Heat, Eseroghene Oguma, Breakout Athlete of the Year Grace Anigbata and Junior Male Athlete of the Year Enoch Adegoke.


Some Special Awardees couldn’t attend the event and we caught up with African Record Holder, Blessing Okagbare and Commonwealth Games 100mhurdles champion, Tobi Amusan at the National Sports Festival in Abuja.

Eseroghene Oguma presenting Special Recognition Award to Blessing Okagbare for her African 200m Record which she set earlier this year.

Chairman, Anambra State Athletics Commission presenting Special Recognition Award to Chief Mrs Mary Onyali for holding the African Record for 22 years before it got broken by Blessing Okagbare.


A big shout out to all our Sponsors; MTN, Nilayo Sports Management, Tequilla, ICT Solutions as well as our media partners; TVC, NTA, STV, Busy Buddies. Also our individual sponsors; ,Mr Kweku Tandoh, Comder Nesiama and Tobi Amusan



Leave a reply

%d bloggers like this: