Rosemary and Bamidele storms to 200m/400m titles at AFN All Comers

The two-day AFN All Comers meet held at the country’s capital which is to set the ball rolling for an exciting 2018 season came to an end yesterday with many athletes kicking off the season with Personal Best’s. The events started on Friday with the 100m men/women finals as the high mark of the day. Reigning National Junior Champion. Usheoritse Itsekiri despite pulling his hamstring 50m into the race held off Jeremiah Jakpa to clinched the men’s title in a Season’s Best of 10.52s. Jeremiah Jakpa settled for 2nd in 10.53s and Olisakwe Chukwudi (10.73s) in 3rd.

Usheoritse feeling excited after the timetronics stopped at 9.98s only to discover later that it was a 10.52s. Photo Credit: MakingofChamps

In the Women’s final, it was a close finish between National 200m Champion Maria Omokwe and Kids ‘N’Play youngster, Rosemary Chukwuma. Maria got the better of the upcoming star as she took the win in 11.80s, the latter posted a Personal Best of 11.85s to finish 2nd while Ayemoba Grace settled for 3rd place in 12.10s.

Gyang Yakubu ran a time of 4:11.95s to take the victory in the men’s 1500m while David Musa (4:12.14s) and  Bathalome Chung (4:13.96s) finished 2nd and 3rd respectively. Adewale Hannah won the Women’s event in  5:30.69.  Ganiyu Sebirat was 2nd in 6:17.41s while Musa Rashidat finished 3rd in 6:28.26s.

On Day 2, the climax of the event was the 200m and 400m finals. Rosemary Chukwuma breezed past the rest of the field as she won the 200m title in a Personal Best time of 24.33s. Moyosore Badejo and Victoria Ojediran finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.

The crowd was entertained with two final of the men’s event which saw Akhigbe Segun win Final B in 22.40s while Final A can be described as ‘Clash of titans’ with Jeremaih Jakpa clinching the title in 21.28s. 400m duo Orukpe Erayokan and Isah Salihu followed in 21.38s and 21.70s.

National Junior Champion in the 400m, Bamidele Emmanuel led the pack from the 150m as he sprinted to the finish line in a Season’s Best of 47.17s. Nazidi Mohammed was 2nd in 47.73s and Emmanuel Ojeli finishing 3rd with a new Personal Best of 47.90s.

2014 Commonwealth Silver medalist Folashade Abugan took the Women’s title in 55.66s. Margaret Etim (56.30s)and Oluchi Offorma (56,63s) finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.

In the Field events:

National javelin champion, Kure Samuel Adams threw a distance of 64.31m to claim the title. Melody Bassey Tom (49.05m) and Simon Aboki (40.00m) finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Samuel Kure preparing to take his throw. Photo Credit: MakingOfChamps

In the Women’s Shot Put Chime Nkechi Leticia of NSCDC was in the world of her own as she threw a distance of  12.35m to win the event. Edeh Nebechi was 2nd in 9.99m while Aisha Sadiq Real was 3rd in 7.40m.

Obiora Arinze won the Men’s High Jump as he scaled the height of 1.90m, Pius Nzuba was 2nd in 1.80m while Adeponle Tomiladefinished in 3rd in 1.70m. Pius Nzuba claimed the Triple JUmp title in 15.06m.

In the Men’s Hammer throw, Joseph Paul won with a distance of 33.80m. Simon Ayuba was 2nd in  14.58m while Stanley Orha was 3rd in 12.70m.

The relays closed the curtain, as Team Lagos won the men’s 4x100m in 41.71s. Team Custom and Team MoC settled for 2nd and 3rd in 41.75s and 41.98s respectively.



Leave a reply

%d bloggers like this: