National Trials Recap

Day 2 of The National trials was really an exciting day as the competition became stiffer to an extent that we thought another National Record would be broken after Antwon Hicks set a new record in the 110m hurdles with a time of 13.27s. The crowd was overwhelming, thanks to the sport loving people of Delta state.

It was a photo finish between Joy Davies and Fadekemi Olude but Joy had the better of Olude as she won the 20km race walk in 2:04:17s while Olude finished with the same time but in second place. Rosemary Julius finished third in 2:19:53s. in the mens event, Fatoyinbo Gbenga took the victory in a time of 1:45:59s. Elegbede Bamidele was in second place (1:47:29s) while Adeyemi Kazeem finished third (1:48:15s)

Top 3 in the womens 10,000m are; Deborah Pam (36:53:73s), Oluwaseun Olamide (37:25:73s) and Aderonke Olumudi (37:48:24s) while in the men’s event, Gyang Emmanuel(31;31;58s), Solomon Yilbam (32:05:19s) and Sylvester Daylong (32:29:71s)

African Junior silver medalist, Theddus Okpara won the men’s High Jump as he scaled 2.10m. Obiora Arinze was second with a height of 2.05m while Cyprain Oyedele was third (1.95m).

Daramola Feyisayo who has been consistent in the Golden League series won the hammer women event with a throw of 49.06m, Cecilia Inyang was second in 47.09m while Sophiat Omizi finished third with 46.72m.

In the women’s Long Jump, Ese Brume leaped to victory in a distance of 6.45m. Sarah Ngo Ngoa finished second with 6.25m while Mercy Abire was third in 6.14m.

The men’s 100m semifinal 1 was won by Seye Ogunlewe in a time of 10.17s while Divine Oduduru won the second semis with a time of 10.28s.

Grace Anigbata scaled a height of 1.70m to secure the first position in the women’s High Jump event. Issa Esther was second in 1.65m.

Chukwuebuka Enekwchu won the men’s Shot Put final with a distance of 19.60m, Olayinka Awotunde was second in 19.00m while Onwuka Kalu finished third in 17.04m.

Amaka Ogeogbunam defended her 400m hurdles title as he won the event in a time of 57.61s. Glory Nathinel was second (57.86s) while Daisy Akpofa finished third (58.69s)
In the men’s event, Henry Okorie dethroned defending champion, Miles Ukaoma to third place as he won the race in a time of 50.12s. Purdue University senior, Obokhare Ikpefan was in surprise second place with a time of 50.32s while Miles ran 50.60s to finish third.

Last year silver medalist, Olu Olamigoke came back stronger this year to take the men’s Triple Jump title as he leaped to a Season’s Best of 16.70m. Baylor University star, Felix Obi was second in 16.44m while Kola Adedoyin finished third in 15.19m.

Seye Ogunlewe proved too strong to be defeated as he retained his 100m title in a time of 10.12s which stands as his Personal Best. Divine Oduduru followed in 10.25s while Ogho-Oghene Egwero finished third in 10.37s.

The women’s 400m was so stacked that we were uncertain whether or not Patience Okon would retain the title she won last year and the quatermile sensation did not disappoint as she raced to victory in 51.67s. Omolara Omotsho was in second with a time of 51.97s while Bamgbose Magaret was in third (52.27s).

After some delay in the men’s final, fastest in the heats, Paul Dedewo was disqualified and the race was won by University of Florida’s freshman, Kunle Fasasi in a time of 46.22s dethroning 2015 champion to second place in a time of 46.50s while Orukpe Erayokan finished third in 47.02s.

In the 1500m women’s final, Comfort James ran a time of 4:37 to win the event ahead of Alabi Aminat who ran 4:49s while Esther Ajirotutu finished third in 5:36s.

Soudi Hamajam was the man to beat in the men’s event as he won with a time of 3:49s. Ishmael Sadjo was second in 3:53s while Saka Sanusi of Lagos state finished third in 4:00s.
The climax of Day 2 was the 200m finals. Most talented athlete in Nigeria, Blessing Okagbare stormed to victory in the women’s final A with a time of 22.77s. Olivia Ekpone was second in 23.43s while Zainab Sanni was in third place with 23.64s. Last year’s champion, Praise Idamadudu settled in 4th place with a time of 23.74s. Final B was won by Lawretta Ozoh in a time of 23.71s. Maria Thompson was in second place with 23.81s while Cecilia Francis finished third in 24.08s.

The man behind the popular slogan ‘I never espeered it’ Divine Oduduru took the men’s final A with a time of 20.51s. Dedewo Paul followed closely in 20.58s while Junior sensation, Arowolo Emmanuel finished third in 21.28s.While Ogunlewe Seye took final B

We at ’Athletic Heat’ say a big congrats to all the winners. Stay tuned as we give you a recap from the CAA Grand Prix which held on last Saturday at the same venue.

For Updates, News and Gist like and follow us on social media…

Facebook: Athletic Heat

 Twitter: @athleticheat

Instagram: athleticheat



Leave a reply

%d bloggers like this: