Anita Taviore hits World U20 standard at Ozoro All Comers, ranks 4th in the World this year

The 2020 Athletics season began at the AFN All Comers Meet in Ozoro, Delta State as Taviore Anita emerged As the standout performer at the competition.

In the Women’s 200m event, Anita Taviore ran a PB of 23.59s to make the qualification standard for World Athletics U20 Championships in Nairobi, Kenya. Umuokoro Success ran 24.00s to rank 2nd overall while Balikis Yakubu clocked 24.20s to finish 3rd.

Anita also edged Balikis in the women’s 100m taking the title in 11.90s while the latter followed in 11.92s. Umuokoro was 3rd with 12.07s

Okoro Oghale won the men’s 100m final with a Season’s Best of 10.65s. Thompson Saturday (10.73s) and Olatunde Olaoluwa (10.83s) finished 2nd and 3rd respectively

Oghale also posted the fastest time in the half lap event, running a time of 21.55s ahead of Agbuke Collins (21.60s) and Ole Paul (21.97s).

In the Men’s 110mH Final, 2019 African Games Silver Medallist Abejoye Oyeniyi, ran a 14.03s to win the final while Grace Ayemoba posted 14.22s to take the women’s title.

Adedoyin Fatola posted the fastest time in the men’s 400m running a SB of 48.89s while in the Women’s event, Oluchi Offorma won with a time of 55.84s.

Amara Obi secured the win in the women’s 5000m, running a time of 2: 24.65s. Nweke Chibuzor (2:32.09s) and Chukwunalu Favour 2:49.33s finished 2nd and 3rd respectively. Ibeizakour Chinedu ran 2:13.58s to win the men’s event.

Oluwaseyi Lawal walked briskly through the finish line in a scintillating Personal Beat of 23:12.00s in the 5000m race walk

On the field, Lawrence Uchenna won the Men’s Discus throw with a distance of 38.6m ahead of Ogwu Nduka (24.2m) and Bella Garba (19.23m) while Oyedele Cyprian won the Men’s High Jump Final after jumping 1.90m.

In the Women’s High Jump, Temitope Adeshina won with an height of 1.70m while Lawrence Uchenna threw a mark of 54.39m to secure his second win in the Men’s Javelin throw ahead of Otukam Prince (35.29m) and Owhofasa Kelvin (34.24m)

In the Men’s Long Jump event, Tobechukwu Nwokocha leapt to a distance of 7.63m to win while Walter Olawale was second with a jump of 6.12m. Uliem Chukwuwike finished third with 6.09m

Abiola Olajide won the Men’s Triple Jump event with a leap of 15.87m.

We wish all athletes the very best as the season progresses.



Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: