Highlights from the 2019 All Nigeria Championships held in Kaduna

The 2019 All Nigeria Athletics championships took place between July 25th-27th at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna. The competition serves as qualifications for the World Championship and All African Games holding later in the year.

On Day 1

Austin Nwoye continued his wining streak taking the men’s discus with a distance of 52.94m ahead of Kenechukwu Ezeofor (49.01m) and Olawale Olatunji (41.89m). He also won the event at the National open Trials held in Abuja last month.

She has stayed unbeaten through out the season, African Junior Champion Princess Kara was almost 5meter clear of her counterparts as she took the Discus title in 49.18. Utiofon James (44.72m) and Ogbeni Onome (43.70m) finished 2md and 3rd.

Oluwayemi Blessing leaped a 15.39m to win the men’s Triple Jump ahead of Abiola Olajide (15.36) and Chigozie Kalu (15.04). Interestingly all three athletes are alumni of University of Port Harcourt.

Blessing Ibrahim was the only athlete to break the 13m barrier as she won the women’s Triple Jump in a SB of 13.25. Onaara Obamuwagu leaped 12.84m to finished 2nd while Mercy Honesty was 3rd with 12.80m

Shehu Mu azu won the men’s 10,000m in 31:06.7s over favorite Emmanuel Gyang who finished in 2nd with 31:36.25s while Gideon Goyet placed 3rd with 31:51.4s.

Deborah Pam was the clear winner in the women’s 10,000m race in 35:25.33s. Rose Akuso (37:08.R3) and ElIzabeth Nuhu (37:21.4s) finished in 2nd and 3rd.

On Day 2

Usheroritse Itsekiri swept the sprint double as he won both the 100m and 200m in 10.23 and 20.97. Enoch Adegoke (10.25) and Seye Ogunlewe (10.27) finished 2nd and 3rd respectively behind Itsekiri in the 100m while Jerry Jakpa (21.00) and Uruemu Idjesa (21.06) finished as runner-ups behind the National champion..

Joy Udo Gabriel pulled up quite a surprise as she defeated Rosemary Chukwuma who finished third in 11.74. The former took the title in 11.58 ahead of Grace Nwokocha who was second in 11.70

Favour Ofili had the fastest time in the women’s 200m running 23.35s while Amarachi Obi (23.99) and Joy Udo-Gabriel (24.07) finished as runner-ups.

Patience Okon George successfully defended her 400m with a SB of 51.66 over Favour Ofili who clocked a PB of 51.90. Amarachi was 3rd in a PB of 52.02s

Emmanuel Ojeli remained unbeaten at the home front as he clinched his first national title over the 400m in a 45.93 away from Orukpe Erayokan 46.35 while Shedrack Akpeki was 3rd in a PB of 46.54s.

Kemi Francis won the women’s 100mH over favorite Grace Ayemoba in 14.02 who was 2nd in 14.11s while Adubi Victoria settled for 3rd in 14.66s

Martin’s Ogieriakhi men’s 110mh in a Seasons best of 14.02s. Osadolor Samuel was 2nd in 14.16s while edged Oyeniyi Abejoye was 3rd in 14.37s

Adebisi Sodiq and Comfort James won the men’s and women’s 800m in 1:51.91 and 2:15.23 respectively.

Emmanuel Gyang and Deborah Pam took the 5000m titles in 14:54.71 and 17:14.41 respectively.

Best Ehire scaled a PB height of 2.12 in the men’s High Jumpwhich saw him qualify for the African Games.

The women’s High Jump saw two athletes in the 1.80m range as Esther Isa came close to her PB of 1.82 as she scaled a SB of 1.81 to take the title while Temitope Adeshina got a PB of 1.80

Joseph Edafiadhe and Precious Okoronkwo won the men’s and women’s Long Jump in 7.54 and 6.05 respectively.

Queen Obisesan took the women’s Hammer Throw in a SB of 65.19

Samuel Kure Adams won the men’s Javelin Throw in 74.33 while Kelechi Nwanaga won the women’s division.



Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: