Adegoke, Chukwuma, Anigbata others win at Athletic Heat Awards

The 2018 Athletic Heat Award was a huge success as several Nigerian athletes, coaches, Para-Athletes and sports administrators were recognized at the biggest event to celebrate Nigerian Track and Field stars.

The Youth Male Athlete of the Year was won by Alaba Akintola as Oritsemeyiwa Ineh and Okoro Success finished as 1st and 2nd runners up.

Youth Athlete of the Year runners-up; Iruoghene Okoro and Sarah Ochigbo.

Youth Olympic Gold medallist, Rosemary Chukwuma won the Youth Female category while Favour Ofili and Sarah Ochigbo were runners up.

Our 2017 Youth Athlete of the Year, Enoch Adegoke won the Junior Male Athlete of the Year as Arinze Benjamin and Shedrack Akpeki finished as runners up.

The Female category was won by High Jump sensation, Esther Isah and was followed by Abasiono Akpan and Yinka Bantefa.

A cross section of nominess in a group photo with the host and co-host.

The Senior Male Athlete of the Year Award went to Oyeniyi Abejoye, Nigeria’s only home-based athlete to win an individual medal at the African Senior Athletics Championships.

Ajayi Yinka won the Female category for the second time in a row. DAG Ambassadors, Mercy Ntia-Obong and Precious Okoronkwo were runners up.

The Breakout Athlete of the Year which is given to an athlete who sprang up during the season with a scintillating performance on a level he/she had not attained prior to the season.

Our winner was Grace Anigbata, 2018 African Senior Championships Gold medallist. Youth Olympic Silver medalist, Alaba Akintola was 1st runner-up while Favour Ofili finished as 2nd runner-up.

Breakout Athlete of the Year winner Grace Anigbata.

The Next Rated Athlete of the Year Award is an award given to an athlete who has shown prowess in dominating his/her event.

This Award was won by Oritsemeyiwa Ineh while Enoch Adegoke and Oyeniyi Abejoye were runners-up.

Coach of the Year award was won by Coach Edirin Owivri while George Obiano and Elegbede Bamidele finished as 1st and 2nd runners-up.

Special Recognition awards were given to Commonwealth Gold medallist, Tobiloba Amusan, JSE visioner Adelowo Sokunbi, Mr Adebanjo Daniel & Mr Bola Alake for long term service to Nigerian Athletics, Track and Field Coaches Association of Nigeria, Bose Omolayo, Galadima Suwiabidu amongst other great sports personalities.

Mr Enefiok Udo-Obong also gave a speech on the Business of Sports to encourage and enlighten the athletes present and those who watched online on the business opportunities that comes with sports.

Mr Enefiok Udo-Obong giving his speech at the 2018 Athletic Heat Awards.

We want to thank our sponsors; Ultima studios, MTN, Nilayo Sports Management, Cerebre Digital, Tequilla and our media partners; TVC, BusyBuddies, ThirtyTwoFM, STV, Supashegs amogst others.

We all look forward to a better show in 2019. For information and enquiries pls contact



Leave a reply

%d bloggers like this: