Okagbare, Oduduru, 95 others listed for African Senior Athletics Championships as Orukpe Erayokan is left out

The Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) has finally released the list of 97 athletes and 16 coaches for the 2018 African Senior Athletics Championship holding in Asaba Delta state from Aug. 1-5th and 3-time Olympian Blessing Okagbare tops the list as she will compete in the Women’s 100m, 200m and 4x100m.  She will be joined by Joy Udo-Gabriel and Mercy Ntia-Obong in the 100m while Idamadudu Praise and Rosemary Chukwuma will compete in the 200m alongside Okagbare.

Fastest 400m athlete this season, Ajayi Yinka, Patience Okon-George and Egwin Emerald will all represent Nigeria in the Women’s one lap event. Egbeniyi Abike and Bantefa Adeyinka will compete in the 800m.

Bamtefa will double in the women’s 1500m and she will be joined by Comfort James, University of Oklahoma alumni Olowora Aminat and Pam Deborah will compete in the women’s 5000m.

Akusho Rose and Onan Sale will compete in the Women’s 10,000m. Amusan Tobi, Ayemoba Grace and Efe Favour will don the country’s colour in the 100m hurdles as Joy Abu, Nathaniel Glory and Ossai Rita will run the 400m hurdles.

National Record Holder Olude Fadekemi and Henshaw Queen will compete in the 20km walk.

In the Women’s Field events, youngster Isa Esther, Anigbata Grace and Temitope Adesina will compete in the High Jump event as Ese Brume will lead the Long Jump squad which comprises Okonrokwo Precious and Abire Mercy.

In the hop, step and jump event, Commonwealth representative Blessing Ibukun will compete alonsgide Anigbata Grace and Abire Mercy.

In the Shot Put, our representatives are; Chime Nkechi, Ogbukwo Eucharia and Anoliefo Uju. Okoro Chime will lead the Discus women which also includes Princess Kara and Onyekwere Chioma.

National Record Holder in the Women’s Hammer throw Queen Obisesan, Omizi Sofiat and Ogundire Temilola will compete in the Hammer throw. While our sole representative in the Women’s Javelin is Nwanaga Kelechi.

In the Heptatlon event, Oluwakemi Francis and Idhe Hope will represent  Nigeria.

In the sprint relays, the team will include Okagbare Blessing, Amusan Tobi, Udo-Gabriel Joy, Ntai-Obong, Rosemary Chukwuma and Ogundiran Blessing. While the quatermile relay will comprise Ajayi Yinka, Patience George, Egwim Emerald, Idamadudu Praise, Abugan Folashade and Favour Ofili.

The Men’s List

3-time National Champion Seye Ogunlewe will compete in the men’s 100m alongside Egwero Ogho-Oghene and Enoch Adegoke while NCAA 200m champion Oduduru Divine will run in the men’s half lap event alongside Arowolo Emmanuel and Jerry Jakpa.

In the men’s one lap event, Chidi Okezie and Nathaniel Samson will rep Nigeria while Edosa Ibadin will compete in the 800m event.

Sambo Hamid and David Musa  will participate in the 1500m while Gyang Emmanuel will be Nigeria’s sole representative in the men’s 5000m. He will double in the 10,000m alongside Jigak Monday and Muazu Shehu.

The men’s 110m hurdles will have FOUR Nigerians; Oyeniyi Abejoye, Bashiru Abudullahi, Ogieriahki Martins and Al-Ameen Alex.  Commonwealth Games finalist Rilwan Alowonle will be Nigeria’s sole representative in the 400m hurdles. We wonder why National champion Henry Okorie isn’t listed for this event wherein he is the National leader on the home front.

Datreng Luka and Raymond Simon will compete in the men’s 3,000m steeplechase while National Record Holder  Fatoyinbo Gbenga, Lawal Seyi and Adeyemi Kazeem will compete in the men’s 20km walk.

Our High Jump representatives are; Edwards Mike, Arinze Obiora and Oyedele Cyprain. In the Pole Vault, Peter Moreno, Toma Japo and Melody Bassey will represent Nigeria.

Tosin Oke, Olumide Olamigoke and Oyedele Cyprain will compete in the men’s hop, step and jump event. Arinze Benjamin, Anota Shola and Ewulo Ezekiel will compete in the Long Jump.

In the throws, Commonwealth Games Silver medalist, Chukwuebuka Enekwechi, Odugesan Isaac and Eke Kalu will compete in the Shot Put. Mozia Stephen will be our sole representative in the Men’s Disus. Enekwechi will also compete in the men’s Hammer throw.

Kure Adams and Ezeofor Kenechukwu will throw the Javelin as Peter Moreno and Osadolo Samuel will compete in the Decathlon.

The sprint relays will feature Oduduru, Ogunlewe, Egwero, Arowolo, Itsekiri Usheoritse and Adegoke. While Okezie, Fasasi Kunle, Nathaniel, Isah Salihu, Atinaya Daniel and Adeyemi Sikiru will compete in the men’s 4x400m.

It’s disheartening to know that Nigeria’s 44s runner, Orukpe Erayokan has been left out on this large team to the Championships. Orukpe who has had a great season, finishing in top 3 at every meet on the home front and also had the fastest time during the 2018 All Nigeria Championships 400m heat is excluded for some unknown reasons.

Also missing from the list is home based Triple Jump sensation Meyiwa Ine who has gone over 16m this season and 3000m steeplechase  National Record Holder Sudy Yamba

The Coaches:


Teye Endurance

Deji Aliu

Anthonu Moses

Odelusi Ayokunle


Ogogo Godwin

Oladipupo Ishola

Akinpelu Saheed

Sprint Hurdles

Gad Onumaebu

Quatermile Hurdles

Oyewole Akeem

Middle Distance

Ojuola Oladiran

Long Distance 

Steven Nuhu

Race Walk 

Elegbede Bamidele

High Jump/Pole Vault

Adebayo Kola

Long Jump

Yaya Kayode


Obisesan Lati

Onuaguluchi Ken

Tech Support

Tunde Giwa



Leave a reply

%d bloggers like this: