Ajayi, Egwero, Udo-Gabriel others win at Athletic Heat Awards

The 2017 Athletic Heat Track ‘N’ Field Awards was a huge success with many athletes beaming with smiles at the end of the show. It was a record-breaking moment for the Athletic Heat Team as they organized an event that has never being done in Nigeria – recognizing home based athletes for greater performances.

The Awards which can still be watched on Youtube recognized current and Ex-Athletes. The coaches, para-athletes and Sport Administrators were not left out as well.

Speaking with the Chief Financial Officer, Toluwani Adebakin he said “I think the awards was a great success, I am happy because all our handwork and efforts brought the joy and happiness we want to see in Nigerian Athletes. We made history and I believe it will encourage others to encourage the sport and eventually help the growth of Track and Field in Nigeria which is the number 1 goal of the company. We’ve also learnt a lot and plan to make this awards even bigger and better next year”

Isaac Odugbesan scooped the first award of the day as he won the Junior Athlete of the Year (Male). Itsekiri Usheoritse and Prosper Ogbonna finished as 1st and 2nd runner-ups respectively.

ARCO sponsored, Joy Udo-Gabriel took home the Female category which was greatly contested with Aniekeme Alphonsus who finished as 1st runner-up and Peace Nwalehia was the 2nd runner-up.

Speaking with thethleticheat.com after the show, Odugbesan had this to say “I’m happy about the whole concept of the Athletic Award. I feel its a great platform for legitimately young athletes like myself to really get out there and as it continues, more athletes will want to push harder because they want their names to be recognized by athleticheat”

Junior Athlete of the Year Male and Female Flanked by CEO, Eseroghene Oguma and MD Usoro Ruth of Athletic Heat

Chiamaka Egbochinam who had the support of her School; Princeton College, Surulere at the event won the Youth Athlete of the Year (Female) beating Asemota Marvellous and Favour Ofili to 1st and 2nd runner-ups.

Youth Athlete of the Year Female, Chiamaka Egbochinam and her fellow students from Princeton College.

One of the fastest home-based athlete in 2017 with 10.40s, Enoch Adegoke won the Youth Athlete of the Year (Male) while Omubo Garshon and Nsikak Okon settled as 1st and 2nd runner-ups.

Most experienced National athlete in recent years, having competed in more than 3 World Championships between 2009-2013 and several other international competitions including the Olympics, Ogho-Oghene Egwero won the Senior Athlete of the Year (Male).  Ogieriakhi Martins and Soudji Hamadjan finished as 1st and 2nd runner-ups respectively.

Ajayi Yinka was the most victorious athlete of the day, as she won two Awards; Senior Athlete of the Year (Female) and Next Rated Athlete of the Year.

National Javelin Record Holder, Kelechi Nwanaga was the 1st runner-up in the Senior Athlete of the Year (Female) category while Glory Nathaniel was 2nd runner-up.

Issac  Odugbesan finished as the 1st runner-up while Arowolo Emmanuel was the 2nd runner-up in the Next Rated Category.

Prosper Ogbonna who had a fantastic 2017 season and the social media fans found him worthy to win the Breakout Athlete of the Year. Itsekiri scooped his second certificate as he finished as the 1st runner-up while Onome Nathaniel was the 2nd runner-up.

Breakout Athlete of the Year Winner, Prosper Ogbonna (M) flanked by 1st and 2nd runner-ups.

Coach Hakeem Oyewole of Team Blessed won the Coach of the Year Award as Coach George Obiano and Edifri Owifri finished as 1st and 2nd runner-ups respectively.

The Para-Athletes were not left out as we recognized the efforts of Laurrita Onye, Flora Ugwunwa and Paul Kehinde at the Rio Paralympics last year. Coach Partick Anaeto who trained Lauriita Onye and Ugwunwa to stardom was awarded the Para-Coach of the Year. Coach Tobias Igwe was also recognized as the Veteran Coach of the Year.

Para Athletes and Coach in a group photo with Youth and Senior Male Athletes of the Year.

We recognized 6 Ex-athletes and top sports administrators for their efforts towards Track ‘N’ Field in Nigeria and they are Mr Mike Enahoro, Mrs Blessing Okagbare, Chief Mary Onyali, Mr Deji Tinubu, Chief Chioma Ajunwa, Mr Tony Okowa and Chief Solomon Ogba.

We want to thank immensely out Lead sponsor, Ultima Limited for all they did to make this show a success. Not forgetting Kwese Free Sports, Bazeleel Consulting, Yali Yali, Greenlife Pharmaceticaul, Lagos State Sports Commission and Radr Online. Please note that the winners were selected based on votes.  Watch out for more photos from the show!



Leave a reply

%d bloggers like this: