The Eko Athletics Grand prix lasted from August 31st- 1st of September 2015 and was held at the Teslim Balogun Stadium. Over 200 athletes took part in the competition which seemed very encouraging. The program is an initiative of Lagos state Athletics Association to discover new talents in Lagos state. Only ten events were scheduled for the competition 100m, 100H, 110H, 400m, 200m, 800m, 5000m, 1500m, long jump, shotput and relays.

The events for day 1 were, 100H, 110H, Shotput, 200m and 400mheats. The 110H for men was a straight final since only six competitors showed up for the event Airen Williams of Osheku won the 110H with a time of 16. 34sec, followed closely behind Martins Christian of Eagle sight 16. 38sec(2nd) and Adams Olumide of Osheku 17.14sec(3rd). The women 100H was also a straight final due to the number of competitors in the event. Adubu Victoria of Osheku clocked a 15.15sec to win the event, closely followed by Alawode Sekinat of Eagle sight(2nd) Akuna Vivian 15.89(3rd) and Henry Emanuella of Osheku 20.67 to place 4th in the 100m women hurdles.

The well known athlete in Lagos state and has represented Nigeria in major meets in the world, Cecilia Francis won the 200 m women with a time of 24.65sec far from her personal best, Adegoke Charity 25.35sec(2nd) Ogundiran Blessing 25.36(3rd), Tavoire Anita 25.37(4th) , Badejo Moyosore 26.13sec(5th), Edun Feyisara 26.35sec(6th) and Lawal Rashidat 26.60sec to place 7th. For the men 200m Jare Folarin of Tonso ran a time of 22.07sec ahead of Badewa Funmilola 22.13sec (2nd), Obute Bamiyo 22.55sec(3rd), Mohammed Sanni 22.82sec (4th), Oni Femi 23.00sec(5th),Great Anaetie 23.05sec(6th), Bello Fala 23.31sec(7th) and Peter Chidera 23.50 sec to come 8th. Jare Folarin who ran impressive time spoke to Athletic Heat

  “I feel very happy and great  to win the 200m because  this is my first medal   from a competition    organised by Lagos state. Moreover,200m is also   my beat event in track and field.

Jare Folarin also went ahead to say he sees himself representing Lagos state in upcoming festival at Calabar in November.
Moving to the field event, the shotput women final Uju Anoliefo who was already in a world of hers threw a distance of 13.94m to win the event followed by Omizi Sophiat 8.47m(2nd), Monday Comfort 6.85m(3rd), Allinson Azeezat 6.31m(4th) and Arigbubuwo Adeola 5.30m to place 5th. For the men, Isaac Odugbesan threw a distance of 15.02m to place first, Egbeogu Uzodinma 10.71m and Obionora Oghenefejiro

The day 2 of the competition had the morning and evening session. The morning session began with the women 5000m won by Olamide Oluwaseun of Osheku 18:20:59sec and Saka Sanusi of Osheku won the men 5000m with a 15:29:63sec.

The 800m women final commenced immediately after the 5000m. The world junior qualifier but was later denied Alabi Aminat won the 800m women with time of 02:14:13sec which she said is a new pb for her. She was followed closely by Diamond Maria 02:14:13(2nd) and Agofure Efe 02:19:61 to come third. Alabi Aminat also had an impressive time to finish second in the women 400m with a time of 55.84sec behind Adegoke Charity 55.45sec to win the race.


Saka Sanusi who had earlier won the men 5000m gave his best shot again in the 800m with a winning time of 1:53:85sec, which he said is a new personal beat for him.

After her Victory in the 200m on Thursday, Cecilia Francis stormed to victory again in the women 100m with a time of 11.88sec, Okoronkwo Precious of Osheku 12.13sec(2nd), MOC’s Udo Gabriel Joy 12.17sec(3rd), Ogundiran Blessing 12.56sec(4th), Lawal Rasheedat 12.58sec(5th), Omosola Omolayo 13.02sec(6th), Thomas Goodness 13.07sec(7th) and Badejo Moyosore 13.10sec(8th).

In the 100m men Final, Obute Bamiyo got his first gold in the Eko Athletics Grand Prix with a time of 10.85sec ahead of Funmilola Badewa of Unilag 10.86sec(2nd) and Jare Folarin of Tonso 10.88sec(3rd).

The well known high jumper in Lagos state who has represented Nigeria in several competitions, recently switched to the long jump. Ayeni Femi won his new event with a distance of 6.98m that stunned everyone even himself. The new long jumper said it is his new personal best. Ayeni Femi looked satisfied and comfortable with his new event that gave him a gold medal. The women longjump wasn’t left behind. The present National Champion at the All Nigeria Championships Okoronkwo Precious won the long jump on Thursday with a leap of 5.40m far from her personal best of 6.24 which she did at the All Nigeria Championships. Omosola Omolayo placed 2nd with a distance of 5.37m.

For Updates, News and Gist like and follow us on social media…

Facebook: Athletic Heat

 Twitter: @athleticheat

Instagram: athleticheat



Leave a reply

%d bloggers like this: