Athletes turn up to honour Nkem Ezealah. 

The sports complex of The Yaba College of Technology was beehive with activities as athletes turned up to participate in the maiden Nkem Martha Ezealah Memorial Athletics Meet in honour of the late track star who passed unto eternal glory on March 15, 2016 and today makes it 4 months since she left this world.

According to the organisers, the event is going to be a yearly activity and it would take place a week after The All Nigeria Championship.
The event kicked off with the men’s 200m which had four heats. Chidera Peter of Team Blessed took heat 1 in a time of 22.10s. Adeyemi Ebunoluwa finished 2nd in 22.32s while Babatunde Emola of Esteem Club was 3rd with a time of 23.09s.

MoC’s Peter Edwin won heat 2 with a time of 22.32s. Christian Martins was in 2nd place (23.17s) while Olanipekun Abraham finished 3rd in 23.35s.

Abejoye Oyeniyi ran 22.30s to win heat 3 while Nnorom David finished in 2nd with 22.60s, Ahkigbe Chinedu was 3rd in 22.61s.

MoC’s Eseroghene Oguma won heat 4 with a Personal Best of 21.79s. The fastest by any athlete in the heat. Emmanuel Oyinloye was 2nd in 21.83s while Sanni Mohammed was 3rd in 22.28s.

Making of Champions, Udo Joy won heat 1 of the women’s 100m with 11.71s. ECOWAS relay Gold medalist, Lawal Rashidat was in 2nd with 11.83s while Omotsho Raimot of Esteem Club finished 3rd in 12.94s.

Eaglesight’s Blessing Ogundiran won heat 2 with a Personal Best of 11.27s. Esteem’s Ruth Usoro finished 2nd in 11.40s while Thomas Goodness was in 3rd place with 11.73s.
Usoro then changed to her jumping spikes as she leaped a distance of 5.87m to win the women’s Long Jump. Omoshola Omolayo was in 2nd with 5.30m while Akuna Vivian was 3rd in 5.01m.

The favourite in the 200m men’s final, Eseroghene Oguma who had the fastest time coming into the final, couldn’t finish the race as the youngster cut muscle pull. The race was won by Abejoye Oyeniyi with a time of 21.40s. Chidera Peter finished second in 21.70s while Peter Edwin was third in 21.78s.

Ruth Usoro made it a double victory as she won the 100m Women’s final in a new Personal Best of 11.30s bettering her 11.40s in the heat. Udo Joy was second with 11.32s while Blessing Ogundiran finished place in 11.34s.
Winners of the triple jump (men) where Adekunle Ali of Mega Rock 13.58m 1st, Godwin Monday of Eagle Sight 13.56m 2nd, Abejoye Oyeniyi Eagle Sight 13.47m 3rd

The finalist in each event were given prize money ranging from #7,000 – #1,000.

The next edition will take take place at this same venue next year.

For Updates, News and Gist like and follow us on social media…

Facebook: Athletic Heat

 Twitter: @athleticheat

Instagram: athleticheat



Leave a reply

%d bloggers like this: